Hello and happy Monday to all 0 of you who currently read the blog, and whoever happens to stumble upon this in the future. I don’t know why, but I decided to write some, see how it goes, and build up some past content before I advertise the blog anywhere. Anyway, you came here for music and music you shall receive.

On this exciting Monday I have an unpopular opinion. The song of the day is Simon and Garfunkel’s Sound of Silence. It’s an awesome tune that musically does some fun things. I really like the harmonies, one almost like a drone and the other a really solid melody that implies melancholy and a little maybe happy. I don’t know. I’m bad at describing things, but I enjoy the way both vocal parts interact.

On to my unpopular opinion: I dislike the Disturbed cover of the song. Part of it is because of the reason I like the original. The harmonies are so excellent, and they give the song a different dimension and really make it what it is. The guy from Disturbed (edit: research shows his name is David Draiman), while he has a great voice for what I’ve heard of Disturbed typically does (I’ve heard less than a half dozen Disturbed songs I think), in my humble opinion his voice doesn’t lend itself to Simon and Garfunkel. I think the Disturbed cover was overhyped and it isn’t really that good.

Even if it wasn’t a cover I don’t think it would be that great of a song. The orchestration is pretty solid and I do like what the Timpani part adds, however I don’t like it. Feel free to hate me, feel free to agree with me, feel free to argue about it in the comments. Please don’t feel free to assassinate me with poison centipedes as I sleep.

PS: On another quick Simon and Garfunkel cover note, Mumford & Son’s cover of The Boxer, while excellent, is totally devoid of slap-stick huge hits and it disappoints me every single time.

Leave a Reply

